Direct Cars Reviews

4.74 Rating 889 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Cars
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
average delivery time
Within 5 Days
on-time delivery
97%
accurate and undamaged orders
Greater than 91%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.78 out of 5
Read Direct Cars Reviews

About Direct Cars:

Direct Cars are one of the original car supermarkets, opened in 1996 and still enjoying ever increasing success. Pioneers of the no hassle sales environment, customers have responded positively to the no pressure approach and are pleased to recommend the experience and return time and again.

Visit Website

Phone:

0114 2511 222

Email:

sales@directcars.co.uk

Location:

Direct Cars
Eckington Way

It should be written into law that all car sales companies should deal with their public the way that Direct Cars do. I cannot buy from a company who just hang around and try to pressure you into buying a car you don't want. The service at Direct cars is exemplary. You can wander round all day long, ask for the keys to look inside any vehicle, and the staff are there in the background (not hovering) if you want any advice. I've just bought my second car from them in 3 years, and I wouldn't entertain looking anywhere else. Andy (our helpful salesman) was very courteous and professional. The pricing of our car was very fair and we felt Andy was completely honest with us regarding all our questions. Direct cars offered us very close to what we hoped for the trade in for our vehicle. Our trust in Direct Cars is such, that even though they're on the wrong side of Sheffield for us, we will only take our car there for it to be regularly serviced and MOT'd - because we know, they will do a thoroughly professional job.
Posted 10 months ago
We were well dealt with by a knowledgable salesman but very upset by the financial guy when we said we were paying cash, taking no credit or insurance and his attitude deteriorated even more when we asked if we could pay on a credit card. He was very brusque as if he could not get rid of us quickly enough. We have cash for the car but wanted to pay on a Tesco credit card to get Tesco points as well as getting the extra protection one gets when you pay by visa or master card. If we had known this prior to going to pay we would have walked away and gone to a company who operate in the 21st century and are pleasant to all customers. In all honesty I will not recommend you to any of my friends who want to buy a car in the future and I will tell them you do not accept payment by credit card in this day and age.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We're sorry you have had a poor experience.

The Business Manager you dealt with did not intend to come across in the way you describe.

It is company policy not to accept credit cards, along with cash and business debit cards, for amounts over £500. This has been the case for a number of years and should have been explained to you prior to ordering, as well as being on the customer documentation folders. With cards it is due to the high transaction fees on the aforementioned types. With cash it is due to money laundering risk and our insurance.

We apologise this was an inconvenience for you, and hope you are enjoying your new vehicle.
Posted 1 month ago
Bought a car with a fault (which still isn’t fully repaired almost three weeks later!). Promised a service log book that I still haven’t received. Incompetent staff who patronise customers and don’t do as they’re supposed to! Avoid this place like the plague.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
We're sorry you are not satisfied with the level of service you received.

We believe the root cause of your poor experience to be when your description of the issue was logged incorrectly against your service booking. This mistake lead to the correct member of staff not being available immediately upon your arrival. This also lead to our service reception suggesting it could be an issue with the balance/fade, unaware that you had already tried this prior to booking. They did not intend to be patronising.

We have now arranged to replace the remaining speaker for you, and hope you will then be able to enjoy your new vehicle.

Your service book is on order with Nissan and will be posted to you immediately upon arrival. The printed service record that was given to you on vehicle delivery is a valid proof of service history.

Your experience is below the high level of service we set ourselves, which is reflected by the other positive reviews on this page. We're taking steps to ensure this doesn't happen again.
Posted 1 month ago
Pressured into changing my car with reassurance that new car would be more economical. This turned out to be very wrong. When I asked to swap back to my old car, I was told that by putting another owner on the log book the car was then worth nearly one thousand pounds less than I paid for it so it was a very expensive exchange. However Direct Cars are now offering the car I returned at a price of £5 less than when I bought it. Somehow I have the feeling that this is is not very fair. It appears that I am the only one who has lost out here.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Poor after service, multiple false promises.. still awaiting...5 months later for a return call to repair damage caused to my car by this dealer and advised it was a priority to be done!!! Made many family purchases previously..but this is the last one
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Not happy with my car as it was vibrating and I dont feel comfortable with it but direct cars are not bothered
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Not at all happy with the car sold to me. Too many faults and still finding them for repair!!!!!
Helpful Report
Posted 7 months ago
Not impressed with the service at all, there was some marks and scratchs on the rear bumper only minor and easily solved, i was told these would be looked at and make them as good as possible, direct cars did not even attempted to sort the problem it as exactly the same no different and no attempt at all considering £17000 has just been spent on a car totally pathetic as is just a 1 month warranty which is more like a back street Arthur Daly warranty even worse as you get 3 months with most of them, i will never consider direct cars ever again and to my pleasure have managed to put off 3 potential customers already including my daughter who was 95% set on a car she had seen on your website, went to Mint cars just down the road you could learn a lot from them, goodbye.
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Terrible experience after having issues with brakes that were supposed to have been checked with a “fine tooth comb!”
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received.

After taking delivery of your new car, you came back the following Saturday by appointment complaining of a noise on the front brakes. We skimmed the front brake discs and replaced the front pads free of charge.

You then returned on Monday, complaining of a noise on the rear brakes. Despite having no appointment and our service department being fully booked, we agreed to start work on it straight away for you. We skimmed the rear brake discs and replaced the rear pads free of charge. You were invited in to the workshop whilst the work was being undertaken to see the progress.

A week later you returned, stating you'd been to Vauxhall for a health check in which they stated the rear brake discs were well below the 8mm legal limit. Even though you provided no paperwork from the Vauxhall dealer to substantiate their claims, we agreed to check them. On inspection we found the rear discs to be above the 8mm limit, despite what the Vauxhall dealer had said, and therefore there was no need to replace them. However for customer satisfaction we replaced the rear discs and fitted another set of new pads free of charge.

We consider that we've done everything we could to satisfy your requests and feel that the 1 star review is undeserved. Regardless of the poor review, we hope you are now enjoying your new vehicle.
Posted 1 year ago
I was told that the sat nav worked when I called to let them know it was not working they told me it's not their problem and the person that told me had left I willl never go back and u have told alll my friend.u told them I was going to put it on social media and they did not care .
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received. Allow us to explain.

You purchased a Mercedes-Benz A Class from us in December 2017. After a few days of owning the vehicle you phoned and explained the navigation was not working. Being polite the member of staff who took the call invited you to come down so we could investigate.

When you returned however it came to light your vehicle didn't actually have Satellite Navigation, and was never advertised as having it. The vehicle description on our website stated: "Pre wiring for navigation".

When building vehicles some manufacturers (rather than fitting a different headunit for navigation) fit the same headunit to every vehicle, and instead have the navigation system as a separate module. This means that navigation can be added later if required. This car did not come with navigation and therefore has no module, but there is a slot in the glove compartment for it to be fitted if you so desire. This is not dissimilar to some manufacturers having iPod connections in their vehicles - the car wouldn't necessarily come with an iPod included!

However we would be happy to assist in ordering one for you at a discounted price and will even fit and show you how to use it. Please get back to us if this offer is of interest.

Regardless, we hope you are still enjoying your new vehicle.
Posted 2 years ago
This is the worst company ever.My solicitor will soon contact with you.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The technician filling the car check list in put a tick in the engine/gearbox to signify there was no oil leak this was not the case there was a oil leak which makes the check list a joke merely a box ticking exercise
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I reported my experience and no one has responded, which I find appalling! Terrible customer service and after care.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We're sorry you were not satisfied with the level of service you received.

Our records show that you booked in to our service department shortly after the delivery of your vehicle. The problem was with a twisted seatbelt, and one of our mechanics fixed this within 5 minutes. We thought this had solved the problem and that you were happy with the other aspects of your experience.

Could you please give more details on what was wrong with your experience?
Posted 2 years ago
Messed about from start to finish, made it almost impossible for me to purchase my car. Wouldnt buy another car through Direct Cars.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I'm sorry you were not satisfied with the level of service you received.

As far as I can tell the sales process went well. You found a car you liked and we arranged to take your old vehicle in as part exchange.

The only part I can recall we had difficulty was obtaining you credit. This is sadly beyond our control. We have a large panel of lenders, all with different requirements, and there is no defined list of questions they may ask. This means when they have a question or concern we have to forward that question on to you and forward on your response. If they then decide that they're unable to provide credit, we have to move on to the next provider and the process starts again.

I'm sorry if this made you feel messed about and hope you're enjoying your new vehicle.

Regards,

Shaun Palmer, Sales Advisor
Posted 3 years ago
Direct Cars is rated 4.74 based on 889 reviews