Direct Cars Reviews

4.8 Rating 1,454 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Cars
4.8
Based on 1,454 reviews
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
97%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 91%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.8 out of 5
Read Direct Cars Reviews

About Direct Cars:

Direct Cars are one of the original car supermarkets, opened in 1996 and still enjoying ever increasing success. Pioneers of the no hassle sales environment, customers have responded positively to the no pressure approach and are pleased to recommend the experience and return time and again.

Visit Website

Phone:

114 2511 222

Email:

sales@directcars.co.uk

Location:

Direct Cars, Eckington Way, Sheffield

Direct Cars 4 star review on 30th May 2022
Alan Foster
Direct Cars 3 star review on 3rd May 2022
Craig Ide
Direct Cars 5 star review on 1st April 2022
Yvette Simpson
Direct Cars 5 star review on 25th March 2022
Janie Firth
Direct Cars 5 star review on 18th October 2021
Paul Betts
Direct Cars 4 star review on 5th September 2021
Gary Holland
Direct Cars 5 star review on 29th August 2021
Martin Greenhough
36
Anonymous
Anonymous  // 01/01/2019
After purchasing a vehicle advertised as AWD 180bhp version I discovered that I had actually bought a 2wd 120bhp.I only found this out by looking through the mobility paperwork which showed this,I only had to do this because the service book and entire book pack was missing along with red trimmed carpet mats and tourneo cover.I collected the car three weeks later only to discover the replacement carpet mats had not arrived and had to be delivered to my home address be a member of staff a further week later at my convenience along with a revised invoice stating vehicle was mis-sold!.Final point boot light did not work and upon investigation I found the feed wire had been left disconnected and tucked up inside trim presumably when tow bar had been installed by previous owner and still haven’t found 12v socket feed yet!.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Jamie, Sorry to hear you were not happy with the service you received and that we have not lived up to our usual 5 star standard in this case. As soon as you brought it to our attention that the vehicle had been misdescribed we immediately offered you a full refund. However, as you stated you loved the vehicle and declined this offer, we agreed to give you some money back instead. This caused us to generate another invoice and we annotated it with the reason for doing so. The book pack, red trimmed carpet mats and tourneo cover were ordered when you bought the vehicle, but did not arrive in time for your collection date. To avoid delays we delivered them to your home address as soon as they arrived instead. We are sorry if this was in any way an inconvenience for you. We can only apologise for the boot light fault and that you are still having issues with the 12V socket feed. If you give our service department a call they will be happy to assist you. Regards
Posted 4 weeks ago
Being nearly 200 miles away from dealership I had to do the deal before viewing vehicle over the phone and told had no body damage with mobility service history. Day of collection and finance in place, was noticed car had scuff on bottom passenger side front bumper and rear door had a bad smart repair. Offered a full tank of fuel which I agreed because i was a long way from home and as said finance sorted. Also empty service book plus no history until they chased it up for me and posted a print out. Salesperson very friendly and do love the car and mechanically great but can only give 3/5 as now booked in for bodywork repair at my expense. If travelling, make sure they 100% fully look over car for you and put something in place if not as described.
Direct Cars 3 star review on 3rd May 2022
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Hi Craig, sorry to hear we have not fully lived up to our usual 5 star standard. We do try to describe our cars as accurately as possible when people are buying them remotely and we do prep them to a high standard beforehand, however, with them being "used" cars there can still be small marks and blemishes as in this case. We believe the offer of the extra fuel was fair in this circumstance, but do apologise if you feel this is not enough. Glad you received the service history via post which was an oversight on our part not having it to hand when you collected the vehicle. Despite this, we do hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Posted 1 month ago
Bought a car 22nd December drove it once engine management light came on service centre shut all Christmas went back to direct cars 5th January picked it back up 7th January for it to go straight back in the same day engine management light still on lesson learnt never buy a car at christmas
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
Hi Julie, sorry to hear you had an issue with your vehicle so close to Christmas whilst our after-sales department was closed for the festive period. I believe we made arrangements for you to bring your vehicle in as soon as we re-opened and that the small issue is now resolved. Apologies once again and despite this, we do hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and we will see you again in the future.
Posted 5 months ago
Nick Wardle was the most unhelpful salesman I have ever met! Just gave me the keys to the car for a test drive in a very small compound and did not explain anything about the car. I decided to purchase the car after a test drive on the road,. When I collected the car I was just told to read the manual without any reference to the workings of the car and as I had not had experience with an automatic I felt some what unsure. I do feel that this salesman could have more helpful !
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi David, Sorry to hear about your recent experience when purchasing from us, we strive ourselves on the level of customer service we give to all customers, whereas it would appear in this instance we have failed. It is somewhat difficult at the moment to show people the full controls due to us still practising social distancing, however it would appear we could have done more to help you, apologies once again. However despite all this we do hope you are enjoying your new car and we will see you again in the future.
Posted 9 months ago
Overall I was left feeling disappointed and underwhelmed. I was not offered car mats which was a shame. However this is very minor. I am disappointed as I paid the deposit a week before collecting the car, I called ahead the morning of collection to ensure everything was okay and I was told the car was on the line up ready to be cleaned. I was handed the keys, and took a look inside the car. I immediately saw that the car cleanliness was mediocre at best, with sand in corners, dirty vents, splash water marks etc. I then noticed bird poo on the front grill and asked for this to be cleaned off. This was done with a bottle of spray and a wipe and I was never offered for this to be washed down properly nor was there a small apology. Having collected the car on my break at work I didn’t have heaps of time so then decided to leave. After spending some time cleaning the car after purchase, I took a look at a video taken late august - which was when I first looked at the car - and noticed that the bird poo mentioned earlier was already there. Unfortunately it seems my car had not been cleaned at all between first looking at the car, coming back to test drive it, and then finally collecting it. This leaves me feeling that it was merely a run of the mill purchase and not the service I would expect.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Hi Emily, we apologise that your experience and the valet of your new car has not met our usual high standards. We endeavour to always make sure that the vehicles are presented to be the best they possibly can and we strive to give great customer service to everyone. I believe we have arranged for you to bring your car back to us so we can fully re-valet it and hopefully rectify the situation. However despite all this we hope you are enjoying your new car and that we will see you again in the future.
Posted 9 months ago
Hidden fee. Includes token petrol and wipe round with shiny sticky sponge.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
Sorry you felt that the optional £60 pre-delivery package fee was a hidden cost, it did also include a service, MOT (if less than 6 months remaining), re-valet and 10 litres of fuel. If you had chose not to pay the above wouldn't have been done just a safety PDI check, so we believe it is good value for money. However, we hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and that we will see you again in the future.
Posted 9 months ago
Friendly sales staff and left you to browse and reasonable value for money. Sorted out a couple problems with no quibble but to soon to see what after sales service would be like.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our no hassle, no pressure sales environment. We aim to offer great and consistent service before, during, and after the sale - so are confident you will be satisfied with our aftersales experience 😀 see you soon!
Posted 1 year ago
Bought a Vauxhall Insignia for a reasonable price, could probably have haggled better as the car had been in stock for sometime but hindsight is a wonderful thing. Presentation of vehicle when collected was excellent, everything done as expected. Disappointments, I thought I had been told that 20 litres of fuel would be put in - they weren't - probably 10 were. Perhaps I misheard Nick the sales man? The tyres are down on tread but only an MOT advisory at 3.0mm. Tyre pressures are all over the place so need to get them sorted and all 3 wiper blades badly smear the windows when on so I need to get a new set. I think it has been 'serviced' hurriedly and a few corners cut.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry our service did not live up to your expectations. It is our goal to ensure every customer receives a great experience. As discussed, if you return the vehicle to our premises we will investigate the issues you have described and put them right.
Posted 1 year ago
Happy when I bought the car and Dave was very helpful but the issues I’ve had have not been rectified by the service department A key battery was changed to “sort” the key light problem; this has done nothing. The dash light turned up to sort the fact that the light was not coming on automatically The lady on the service desk was extremely rude
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Good choice, reasonable prices
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Score would have been higher if the car had been supplied with mats. Little things count. Mats were in the boot of the car initially but on collection there were no mats. When i queried it i was told that if there were no mats either inside the car or in the boot then there wern't any. When you're spending £11.5k on a car you at least expect mats front and rear.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had a problem with car not yet sorted
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
The car itself is very nice but unfortunately the information about the car was misleading the tax was wrong the information said it was £145 in fact it was £465 and the mpg stated 56 when it's doing 33 so feeling a bit let down
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Choosing the car getting the finance sorted out this was very easy and not complicated. The problem I have is the car has faults which it seems are not a priority to anyone but myself. On the way to work warning lights starting coming on and this is the first day I have driven the car. Still waiting to have it repaired.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Took delivery of VW Polo on 28th August, on arriving home discovered no owners manual, informed you the same day - still awaiting manual nearly 4 weeks later!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We're sorry you are not satisfied with the service you received. A manual has been ordered and we are awaiting it's delivery. As soon as it arrives we will contact you.
Posted 2 years ago
I have just purchased a Nissan Micra I was not offered the option to take it for a Test Run If I had I would not have bought it
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We’re sorry you feel as though our service did not live up to your expectations. When you visited our showroom you were in a hurry to purchase a new car as soon as possible and picked the Nissan Micra. We would have been happy for you to have a test drive if you had you asked.
Posted 3 years ago
Nice atmosphere, very good and helpful sales rep Jack, I was quite impressed. Initially 5 stars. Also happy with the car now. There is a big but!! See my initial email below. Well after all of that and considerable inconvinience and cost which has not been completely covered. I have been reimbursted for the 12v battery which was the main cost. It is such a shame that I was unhappy, not sure what went wrong. I would recomend direct cars again with obvious reservations. Jack, After picking up my car and driving it to my caravan in Staffordshire, I am very annoyed by a couple of things, both battery related. These should have been rectified before I picked up the car from you!!! 1. Key batteries. On my test drive I pointed out that a fault was showing relating to keys. When I picked up the car I mentioned this and you said they had been changed. Today my wife was stuck in cold pouring rain outside Tescos because the key she had did not work. I went in and purchased new battery, replaced it and it worked fine. It was obvious the old battery was worn out. Just as well that I knew what battery was needed and that I knew how to change it, if not it would have been an even bigger issue. 2. Car 12v battery. As you are well aware, on and before test drive the battery was well below voltage and showing warning to that effect. You said it would be OK once the car had been run for a while. After a long drive to caravan, the battery is still giving low voltage warnings. This also means that the function of the car is sub standard. i.e. radio don’t work without engine running, stop start does not work, keep getting warnings. I also suspect this is having an adverse effect on MPG. Why was this not rectified as part pre delivery check? I suspect it needs a new battery, why was this not done! It is shame that your really good overall service has been ruined by the above. I will give you a call tomorrow.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We're sorry you were not satisfied with the level of service you received. After you raised your issues with us, we reimbursed you for the car battery. The batteries in the remote keys were definitley replaced before delivery, but it appears the new battery in one of the keys was faulty. We hope that all the issues are resolved, and that you are now enjoying your new vehicle. If you have any further issues however, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Posted 3 years ago
The staff members Jack and Ian were exceptionally pleasant to deal with (10/10) but I am disappointed with my purchase as I have discovered a bodywork issue which I didn't spot when I bought the car - there has previously been a poor repair done on the n/s/f wing (which I'm sure Jack wouldn't have been aware of)….. but at certain angles it spoils the car and will affect the resale price when I come to trade it back in with you so I have to say I have gone from highly delighted as I drove away to less than delighted now I have spotted the fault. I was sooo impressed with the car and with Jack that I obviously didn't scrutinise the car (didn't think I needed to to be honest as Direct Cars are known for superlative quality cars)(father in law had three from you).
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
We are sorry you are not fully satisfied with your purchase. Jack has received your message about this issue and has attempted to contact you twice, but has been unsuccessful. Could you please arrange to visit us so we can inspect the vehicle?
Posted 3 years ago
Car PDI’d before pick up, found out the next day there was a crack in the windscreen. Also car had to be returned to replace shock absorbers as the ride was terrible but the car passed PDI with no mention of faults? Repairs were carried out with minimal fuss though, still has crack in screen.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
I am very pleased with my new vehicle, the only thing i was disappointed with was the admin charge of £60.00, when you are spending so much money on a car with yourselves I don't think an admin charge should be charged, all other car dealers i have dealt with did not charge an admin fee, it would make me think twice in the future which is a shame.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Kathryn, We're sorry you feel that way. To be clear - we don't have a compulsory admin fee. What you purchased for £59.99 is our optional Pre-Delivery Package which includes: 10 ltrs of fuel, re-valeting, membership of our loyalty card scheme, HPI check, multi point mechanical inspection inc. lubrication service and a set of new registration plates. Most car supermarkets and main dealers have adopted policies similar to ours, but for many it's compulsory. With us it's entirely optional and you could have still purchased the vehicle without this package. With this in mind we hope you would consider us again in the future. Hopefully this clears things up, and you are enjoying your new vehicle.
Posted 3 years ago
Direct Cars is rated 4.77 based on 1,454 reviews