Direct Cars Reviews

4.75 Rating 784 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Cars
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
delivery methods
Own Driver
average delivery time
Within 5 Days
on-time delivery
98%
accurate and undamaged orders
95%
Customer Service
communication channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
queries resolved in
Under an hour
customer service
4.79 out of 5
Read Direct Cars Reviews

About Direct Cars:

Direct Cars are one of the original car supermarkets, opened in 1996 and still enjoying ever increasing success. Pioneers of the no hassle sales environment, customers have responded positively to the no pressure approach and are pleased to recommend the experience and return time and again.

Visit Website

Phone:

0114 2511 222

Email:

sales@directcars.co.uk

Location:

Direct Cars
Eckington Way

It should be written into law that all car sales companies should deal with their public the way that Direct Cars do. I cannot buy from a company who just hang around and try to pressure you into buying a car you don't want. The service at Direct cars is exemplary. You can wander round all day long, ask for the keys to look inside any vehicle, and the staff are there in the background (not hovering) if you want any advice. I've just bought my second car from them in 3 years, and I wouldn't entertain looking anywhere else. Andy (our helpful salesman) was very courteous and professional. The pricing of our car was very fair and we felt Andy was completely honest with us regarding all our questions. Direct cars offered us very close to what we hoped for the trade in for our vehicle. Our trust in Direct Cars is such, that even though they're on the wrong side of Sheffield for us, we will only take our car there for it to be regularly serviced and MOT'd - because we know, they will do a thoroughly professional job.
Posted 5 months ago
Choosing the car getting the finance sorted out this was very easy and not complicated. The problem I have is the car has faults which it seems are not a priority to anyone but myself. On the way to work warning lights starting coming on and this is the first day I have driven the car. Still waiting to have it repaired.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
Took delivery of VW Polo on 28th August, on arriving home discovered no owners manual, informed you the same day - still awaiting manual nearly 4 weeks later!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 month ago
We're sorry you are not satisfied with the service you received.

A manual has been ordered and we are awaiting it's delivery. As soon as it arrives we will contact you.
Posted 1 month ago
I have just purchased a Nissan Micra I was not offered the option to take it for a Test Run If I had I would not have bought it
Helpful Report
Posted 5 months ago
We’re sorry you feel as though our service did not live up to your expectations.

When you visited our showroom you were in a hurry to purchase a new car as soon as possible and picked the Nissan Micra. We would have been happy for you to have a test drive if you had you asked.
Posted 5 months ago
Nice atmosphere, very good and helpful sales rep Jack, I was quite impressed. Initially 5 stars. Also happy with the car now. There is a big but!! See my initial email below. Well after all of that and considerable inconvinience and cost which has not been completely covered. I have been reimbursted for the 12v battery which was the main cost. It is such a shame that I was unhappy, not sure what went wrong. I would recomend direct cars again with obvious reservations. Jack, After picking up my car and driving it to my caravan in Staffordshire, I am very annoyed by a couple of things, both battery related. These should have been rectified before I picked up the car from you!!! 1. Key batteries. On my test drive I pointed out that a fault was showing relating to keys. When I picked up the car I mentioned this and you said they had been changed. Today my wife was stuck in cold pouring rain outside Tescos because the key she had did not work. I went in and purchased new battery, replaced it and it worked fine. It was obvious the old battery was worn out. Just as well that I knew what battery was needed and that I knew how to change it, if not it would have been an even bigger issue. 2. Car 12v battery. As you are well aware, on and before test drive the battery was well below voltage and showing warning to that effect. You said it would be OK once the car had been run for a while. After a long drive to caravan, the battery is still giving low voltage warnings. This also means that the function of the car is sub standard. i.e. radio don’t work without engine running, stop start does not work, keep getting warnings. I also suspect this is having an adverse effect on MPG. Why was this not rectified as part pre delivery check? I suspect it needs a new battery, why was this not done! It is shame that your really good overall service has been ruined by the above. I will give you a call tomorrow.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We're sorry you were not satisfied with the level of service you received.

After you raised your issues with us, we reimbursed you for the car battery.

The batteries in the remote keys were definitley replaced before delivery, but it appears the new battery in one of the keys was faulty.

We hope that all the issues are resolved, and that you are now enjoying your new vehicle. If you have any further issues however, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Posted 8 months ago
The staff members Jack and Ian were exceptionally pleasant to deal with (10/10) but I am disappointed with my purchase as I have discovered a bodywork issue which I didn't spot when I bought the car - there has previously been a poor repair done on the n/s/f wing (which I'm sure Jack wouldn't have been aware of)….. but at certain angles it spoils the car and will affect the resale price when I come to trade it back in with you so I have to say I have gone from highly delighted as I drove away to less than delighted now I have spotted the fault. I was sooo impressed with the car and with Jack that I obviously didn't scrutinise the car (didn't think I needed to to be honest as Direct Cars are known for superlative quality cars)(father in law had three from you).
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We are sorry you are not fully satisfied with your purchase.

Jack has received your message about this issue and has attempted to contact you twice, but has been unsuccessful.

Could you please arrange to visit us so we can inspect the vehicle?
Posted 8 months ago
Car PDI’d before pick up, found out the next day there was a crack in the windscreen. Also car had to be returned to replace shock absorbers as the ride was terrible but the car passed PDI with no mention of faults? Repairs were carried out with minimal fuss though, still has crack in screen.
Helpful Report
Posted 9 months ago
I am very pleased with my new vehicle, the only thing i was disappointed with was the admin charge of £60.00, when you are spending so much money on a car with yourselves I don't think an admin charge should be charged, all other car dealers i have dealt with did not charge an admin fee, it would make me think twice in the future which is a shame.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Kathryn,

We're sorry you feel that way. To be clear - we don't have a compulsory admin fee. What you purchased for £59.99 is our optional Pre-Delivery Package which includes: 10 ltrs of fuel, re-valeting, membership of our loyalty card scheme, HPI check, multi point mechanical inspection inc. lubrication service and a set of new registration plates.

Most car supermarkets and main dealers have adopted policies similar to ours, but for many it's compulsory. With us it's entirely optional and you could have still purchased the vehicle without this package. With this in mind we hope you would consider us again in the future.

Hopefully this clears things up, and you are enjoying your new vehicle.
Posted 1 year ago
Pleased the prompt action to correct and finalise the deal. Staff were pleasant and welcoming though after traveling over 2 hours to the garage had expected to be offered a tea or coffee! Disappointed to have to point out that the standard puncture repair equipment and fuel funnel were missing. Suspect a less than honest answer to how the auto start / stop works with a Ford powershift (automatic). It wasn't working possibly because the battery charge is required to be more than 75%. Also the policy of not accepting credit cards while saving Direct Cars money potentially exposes the buyer to more risk.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Whilst the actual administration was quite good there were several issues that were unsatisfactory and not as good as previous purchases. These included issues with the log book that has still not been resolved; scratch repairs to the glove box are abysmal; the rear air vent is broken and unusable; and the tyres with only 3mm and 4mm tread would have been replaced previously by Direct cars. In addition I had to provide my own car mats.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Got a good car at less than main dealer second-hand prices
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Didn’t make me happy
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Ok sales service poor after sales not had any call to see how things are.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Very friendly staff gave us a good trade in price for our old car plain talking no hidden charges
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The car I was purchasing had sold itself to me so the salesman put very little in during the purchase or pre-delivery. Very disappointed to have to return the car as it had not been valeted.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received.

It's great that the vehicle had sold itself to you - this is a testament to the quality of the stock we display. As far as we were aware at the time the purchase process had gone well.

On taking delivery of the vehicle you determined the vehicle valeting was not up to you expectations. To resolve the issue we repeated the valet, and gave you 15 litres of fuel for your trouble.

We hope this has rectified the situation to your satisfaction, and hope you're enjoying your new vehicle.
Posted 1 year ago
Had a couple of issues with new car but it was sorted out
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
This was for second time we have purchased a car from direct cars. Not quite as good service as the first time we bought from them 5 years ago. They just seemed really busy( not a bad thing) and failed to explain a few things about payment that would have helped and ended up delaying purchase of the car. Really happy with the car we bought.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Good sales team . no car mats , had not been valeted ? lots of dust under head rests and car boot lid , smears on the inside of windscreen .spent two hours to get it up to my standard .leather seat part very dry needed treatment .
1 Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Actually I was somewhat unhappy as my car wasn't ready for my arranged collection day.I had given over a week's notice and whilst I was on the way to pick the car up Direct phoned me to say the car had a fault and would not be ready to make matters worse I was on holiday to Scotland so was given a loan car for my holiday but had to return to Sheffield which was way out of my way as I live in South WALES. So not so great. The Staff were very good and looked after me but you can see why I only gave 3 stars
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Direct Cars is rated 4.75 based on 784 reviews