Direct Cars Reviews

4.77 Rating 1,294 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Direct Cars
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Own Driver
Average Delivery Time
Within 5 Days
On-time Delivery
97%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
Greater than 91%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Live Chat, Email
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.78 out of 5
Read Direct Cars Reviews

About Direct Cars:

Direct Cars are one of the original car supermarkets, opened in 1996 and still enjoying ever increasing success. Pioneers of the no hassle sales environment, customers have responded positively to the no pressure approach and are pleased to recommend the experience and return time and again.

Visit Website

Phone:

114 2511 222

Email:

sales@directcars.co.uk

Location:

Direct Cars, Eckington Way, Sheffield

Overall I was left feeling disappointed and underwhelmed. I was not offered car mats which was a shame. However this is very minor. I am disappointed as I paid the deposit a week before collecting the car, I called ahead the morning of collection to ensure everything was okay and I was told the car was on the line up ready to be cleaned. I was handed the keys, and took a look inside the car. I immediately saw that the car cleanliness was mediocre at best, with sand in corners, dirty vents, splash water marks etc. I then noticed bird poo on the front grill and asked for this to be cleaned off. This was done with a bottle of spray and a wipe and I was never offered for this to be washed down properly nor was there a small apology. Having collected the car on my break at work I didn’t have heaps of time so then decided to leave. After spending some time cleaning the car after purchase, I took a look at a video taken late august - which was when I first looked at the car - and noticed that the bird poo mentioned earlier was already there. Unfortunately it seems my car had not been cleaned at all between first looking at the car, coming back to test drive it, and then finally collecting it. This leaves me feeling that it was merely a run of the mill purchase and not the service I would expect.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Hi Emily, we apologise that your experience and the valet of your new car has not met our usual high standards. We endeavour to always make sure that the vehicles are presented to be the best they possibly can and we strive to give great customer service to everyone. I believe we have arranged for you to bring your car back to us so we can fully re-valet it and hopefully rectify the situation. However despite all this we hope you are enjoying your new car and that we will see you again in the future.
Posted 1 week ago
Hidden fee. Includes token petrol and wipe round with shiny sticky sponge.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Sorry you felt that the optional £60 pre-delivery package fee was a hidden cost, it did also include a service, MOT (if less than 6 months remaining), re-valet and 10 litres of fuel. If you had chose not to pay the above wouldn't have been done just a safety PDI check, so we believe it is good value for money. However, we hope you are enjoying your new vehicle and that we will see you again in the future.
Posted 2 weeks ago
Friendly sales staff and left you to browse and reasonable value for money. Sorted out a couple problems with no quibble but to soon to see what after sales service would be like.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our no hassle, no pressure sales environment. We aim to offer great and consistent service before, during, and after the sale - so are confident you will be satisfied with our aftersales experience 😀 see you soon!
Posted 3 months ago
Bought a Vauxhall Insignia for a reasonable price, could probably have haggled better as the car had been in stock for sometime but hindsight is a wonderful thing. Presentation of vehicle when collected was excellent, everything done as expected. Disappointments, I thought I had been told that 20 litres of fuel would be put in - they weren't - probably 10 were. Perhaps I misheard Nick the sales man? The tyres are down on tread but only an MOT advisory at 3.0mm. Tyre pressures are all over the place so need to get them sorted and all 3 wiper blades badly smear the windows when on so I need to get a new set. I think it has been 'serviced' hurriedly and a few corners cut.
Helpful Report
Posted 8 months ago
We are sorry our service did not live up to your expectations. It is our goal to ensure every customer receives a great experience. As discussed, if you return the vehicle to our premises we will investigate the issues you have described and put them right.
Posted 8 months ago
Happy when I bought the car and Dave was very helpful but the issues I’ve had have not been rectified by the service department A key battery was changed to “sort” the key light problem; this has done nothing. The dash light turned up to sort the fact that the light was not coming on automatically The lady on the service desk was extremely rude
Helpful Report
Posted 11 months ago
Good choice, reasonable prices
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Score would have been higher if the car had been supplied with mats. Little things count. Mats were in the boot of the car initially but on collection there were no mats. When i queried it i was told that if there were no mats either inside the car or in the boot then there wern't any. When you're spending £11.5k on a car you at least expect mats front and rear.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Had a problem with car not yet sorted
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The car itself is very nice but unfortunately the information about the car was misleading the tax was wrong the information said it was £145 in fact it was £465 and the mpg stated 56 when it's doing 33 so feeling a bit let down
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Choosing the car getting the finance sorted out this was very easy and not complicated. The problem I have is the car has faults which it seems are not a priority to anyone but myself. On the way to work warning lights starting coming on and this is the first day I have driven the car. Still waiting to have it repaired.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Took delivery of VW Polo on 28th August, on arriving home discovered no owners manual, informed you the same day - still awaiting manual nearly 4 weeks later!
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We're sorry you are not satisfied with the service you received. A manual has been ordered and we are awaiting it's delivery. As soon as it arrives we will contact you.
Posted 1 year ago
I have just purchased a Nissan Micra I was not offered the option to take it for a Test Run If I had I would not have bought it
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We’re sorry you feel as though our service did not live up to your expectations. When you visited our showroom you were in a hurry to purchase a new car as soon as possible and picked the Nissan Micra. We would have been happy for you to have a test drive if you had you asked.
Posted 2 years ago
Nice atmosphere, very good and helpful sales rep Jack, I was quite impressed. Initially 5 stars. Also happy with the car now. There is a big but!! See my initial email below. Well after all of that and considerable inconvinience and cost which has not been completely covered. I have been reimbursted for the 12v battery which was the main cost. It is such a shame that I was unhappy, not sure what went wrong. I would recomend direct cars again with obvious reservations. Jack, After picking up my car and driving it to my caravan in Staffordshire, I am very annoyed by a couple of things, both battery related. These should have been rectified before I picked up the car from you!!! 1. Key batteries. On my test drive I pointed out that a fault was showing relating to keys. When I picked up the car I mentioned this and you said they had been changed. Today my wife was stuck in cold pouring rain outside Tescos because the key she had did not work. I went in and purchased new battery, replaced it and it worked fine. It was obvious the old battery was worn out. Just as well that I knew what battery was needed and that I knew how to change it, if not it would have been an even bigger issue. 2. Car 12v battery. As you are well aware, on and before test drive the battery was well below voltage and showing warning to that effect. You said it would be OK once the car had been run for a while. After a long drive to caravan, the battery is still giving low voltage warnings. This also means that the function of the car is sub standard. i.e. radio don’t work without engine running, stop start does not work, keep getting warnings. I also suspect this is having an adverse effect on MPG. Why was this not rectified as part pre delivery check? I suspect it needs a new battery, why was this not done! It is shame that your really good overall service has been ruined by the above. I will give you a call tomorrow.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We're sorry you were not satisfied with the level of service you received. After you raised your issues with us, we reimbursed you for the car battery. The batteries in the remote keys were definitley replaced before delivery, but it appears the new battery in one of the keys was faulty. We hope that all the issues are resolved, and that you are now enjoying your new vehicle. If you have any further issues however, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Posted 2 years ago
The staff members Jack and Ian were exceptionally pleasant to deal with (10/10) but I am disappointed with my purchase as I have discovered a bodywork issue which I didn't spot when I bought the car - there has previously been a poor repair done on the n/s/f wing (which I'm sure Jack wouldn't have been aware of)….. but at certain angles it spoils the car and will affect the resale price when I come to trade it back in with you so I have to say I have gone from highly delighted as I drove away to less than delighted now I have spotted the fault. I was sooo impressed with the car and with Jack that I obviously didn't scrutinise the car (didn't think I needed to to be honest as Direct Cars are known for superlative quality cars)(father in law had three from you).
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
We are sorry you are not fully satisfied with your purchase. Jack has received your message about this issue and has attempted to contact you twice, but has been unsuccessful. Could you please arrange to visit us so we can inspect the vehicle?
Posted 2 years ago
Car PDI’d before pick up, found out the next day there was a crack in the windscreen. Also car had to be returned to replace shock absorbers as the ride was terrible but the car passed PDI with no mention of faults? Repairs were carried out with minimal fuss though, still has crack in screen.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
I am very pleased with my new vehicle, the only thing i was disappointed with was the admin charge of £60.00, when you are spending so much money on a car with yourselves I don't think an admin charge should be charged, all other car dealers i have dealt with did not charge an admin fee, it would make me think twice in the future which is a shame.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Kathryn, We're sorry you feel that way. To be clear - we don't have a compulsory admin fee. What you purchased for £59.99 is our optional Pre-Delivery Package which includes: 10 ltrs of fuel, re-valeting, membership of our loyalty card scheme, HPI check, multi point mechanical inspection inc. lubrication service and a set of new registration plates. Most car supermarkets and main dealers have adopted policies similar to ours, but for many it's compulsory. With us it's entirely optional and you could have still purchased the vehicle without this package. With this in mind we hope you would consider us again in the future. Hopefully this clears things up, and you are enjoying your new vehicle.
Posted 2 years ago
Pleased the prompt action to correct and finalise the deal. Staff were pleasant and welcoming though after traveling over 2 hours to the garage had expected to be offered a tea or coffee! Disappointed to have to point out that the standard puncture repair equipment and fuel funnel were missing. Suspect a less than honest answer to how the auto start / stop works with a Ford powershift (automatic). It wasn't working possibly because the battery charge is required to be more than 75%. Also the policy of not accepting credit cards while saving Direct Cars money potentially exposes the buyer to more risk.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Whilst the actual administration was quite good there were several issues that were unsatisfactory and not as good as previous purchases. These included issues with the log book that has still not been resolved; scratch repairs to the glove box are abysmal; the rear air vent is broken and unusable; and the tyres with only 3mm and 4mm tread would have been replaced previously by Direct cars. In addition I had to provide my own car mats.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Got a good car at less than main dealer second-hand prices
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Didn’t make me happy
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Direct Cars is rated 4.77 based on 1,294 reviews